/National Parks Centennial‬‬

National Parks Centennial‬‬ Infographic

Share this Image On Your Site

On August 25th, 2016 the National Park Service celebrates its 100th anniversary. National Parks Centennial‬‬

How many national parks are there in the united states?

There are 58 national parks in the United States, many of them unsung natural oases full of majestic beauty. And while the marquee parks—Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Yosemite—are well worth visiting, there are drawbacks, namely high admission prices and enormous crowds.

What was the first national park?

The first national park, Yellowstone, was signed into law by President Ulysses S. Grant in 1872, followed by Mackinac National Park in 1875 (decommissioned in 1895), and then Rock Creek Park (later merged into National Capital Parks), Sequoia and Yosemite in 1890.

Which president established yellowstone?

It was established by the U.S. Congress and signed into law by President Ulysses S. Grant on March 1, 1872.

In 1969, the IUCN declared a national park to be a relatively large area with the following defining characteristics:

– One or several ecosystems not materially altered by human exploitation and occupation.
– Highest competent authority of the country has taken steps to prevent or eliminate exploitation or occupation.
– Visitors are allowed to enter, under special conditions, for inspirational, educative, cultural, and recreative purposes.

By | 2017-06-29T09:18:41+00:00 August 16th, 2016|Environment|0 Comments

Leave A Comment